Time Flies When You're Complaining

Friday, Sept. 13, 2002 07:41

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Yesterday was a good day. Weather-wise it was a perfect day! I mostly rejoiced in the perfectness of the day, but did manage to accomplish all of the truly important tasks.

Being productive makes me happy.

My dad came over last night. As usual, he spent two hours talking about himself: his motorcycle ministry, his part-time job, his church, his brothers, his past, his shame, his pain. Never once asked me about school or my job or my life. Just goes to prove, you can send a man to church but you can't make him change completely.

One of the things I managed to do yesterday was make it over to Pine Knob to upgrade our concert tickets for tomorrow night. Row G, Baby! My mother should be pleased.

I'm not looking forward to tomorrow. Too much to do. I still feel behind on the homework (even though I'm not) and I think I'm a little edgey because of it. Little things are getting on my nerves. (Right now it's the Boy and his frantic pacing about the house.) Last night I ripped into Hubband without thinking.

He was doing one of those Hubband things he does, thinking he's helping when in reality he's interfering. I had bought 5 beautiful mums at the farmer's market yesterday and when I attempted to repot them, I found we were out of potting soil. By the time I got out to get more, it was late and my Dad was due any minute. So I left the potting soil next to the flowers. One I had tried to repot in a too-small container and it was overflowing. I had planned to fix these problems, I was just busy.

As soon as Dad left, Hubband was all, "Do you want these in the garage?" and, "Do you want me to water these?", trying to take control of what he sees as a "situation". I came out a few minutes later to find one of the mums (my favorite one) broken in half and laying out of the pot. He had been trying to "fix" it.

"WELL IT WASN'T BROKEN BEFORE!"

So I had to drop what I was doing and immediately set about repotting these plants so Hubband would not try to "fix" them any more! He kept trying to help me but it was like there was a stop-watch running somewhere.

"Honey, gardening is not a competitive sport. It's something I do to relax. You are currently draining all the fun out of it. Why don't you go find something else to do?"

I was then able to send him on several fetch and tote errands so I could pot the stupid plants myself. I think they look nice, but the favorite one may not make it. A lot of it's root structure was damaged.

We'll see. At those prices, I can afford to buy more.

Crap, look at the time!

0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!