Garden Slugs and other gross stuff.

Thursday, Jun. 06, 2002 15:07

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

After 3pm. Must go get little boy soon.

Still no gym visit and I made Hubband go get me Doritos and a Coke last night.

I so suck.

(And now I've blown the whole "not talking negatively about myself" thing, too! Jeez!)

Seriously, I'm getting there. I've eaten everything good in the house. I've cleaned out my cupboards. I've started my list of staples (I'll be finishing it after I finish this). The plumber has been here and gone. I'll have no more excuses. There will be no reason why next week shouldn't include some activity!

Ooh! And I ordered a journal from Amazon called "Body Confident" that is supposed to help me remain positive during this process. Cool.

I went stamp-store crazy this morning. Could not help myself. And then it didn't end up coming to near the total I imagined. That made me happy. I'm really trying not to shop so much. Like right now. I'm not shopping.

I want to, though. Really.

I'm trying to bargain hunt. You know, trying to enjoy the shopping more than the actual having. Example: This morning I decided I needed some see through organizer things for my cupboards. I thought about going to Linens and Things or Organized Living, where I know they have such things. Instead, I decided to try Big Lots.

Big Lots is a riot. Sometimes it makes me laugh just going in there but most of the time I can find something cool. (It helps if I'm looking for something specific.) They had these great Rubbermaid storage sets for $9.99. Now I'm organized beyond even my belief! (But I think I need one or two more sets.) :)

Little Boy has become a real live boy. He's freaking me out. I'm not sure I like it.

Aside from wanting more and more to play outside with his buddy's and get dirty and gross, he's begun to develop an interest in bugs and other things slimy.

Yesterday, when I was doing my daily walkabout in my garden (the walking involves about three steps), I noticed my Yarrow plant has these peculiarly disgusting white slug-like things on it. (They could very well be slugs for all I know, but I think they're garden snails.) I think they're what's been progressing down the garden by eating away the leaves of some of my plants. Perhaps they're taste testing to find just the right one, I don't know. Anyway, they're gross.

So I come home and tell Hubband about it while Little Boy is doing his homework. Suddenly Little Boy is out the back door.

Then back in.

"Which plant?"

"The Yarrow"

Back out.

Back in.

"What's a Yarrow?"

"The one on this side that looks like spikey green fireworks."

Back out.

Back in.

"What do the bugs look like again?"

So I ended up coming out there with him to point them out.

AND HE PICKED ONE UP IN HIS FINGERS!!!!

Ugh!

So, I thought I remembered hearing that putting out a pan of beer would entice the slugs to drink themselves to death. Therefore, I sacrificed one of Hubband's beers for the cause. We'll see. Maybe we'll just end up with a lot of drunk birds and kitties and raccoons.

Which could also be fun.

I took some pictures of my Azalea which I hope to post tomorrow. See you then.

0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!