Nagging Fear

Tuesday, Nov. 19, 2002 12:39

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

My good (best) friend's dad passed away this weekend. It was not unexpected at all, the man has been gravely ill since we were teenagers, but that doesn't make it any easier for her. I can't imagine how she must be feeling, so I selfishly think about my own feelings. As I was reading his obituary, was startled by the many things I hadn't known or had forgetten over the years. That he was 10 years to the day older than my own mother. That his parents' names were familiar in that they flow throughout their family. That he was a veteran of the Korean War. There were two grandchildren I hadn't known existed. Everyone's formal names were used. Nobody ever called them by these names. Not in all the time I've known her. Not in these...sixteen? seventeen?...years. The article mentions hospice care, which means there were probably some agonizing decisions made.

I can't help thinking how my Husband and all his friends are orphans and now, of all my dearest, longest girlfriends, I'm the only one standing with two parents. I'm scared that I may not be able to dodge this bullet forever.

0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!