Quick Recap

Wednesday, Jun. 19, 2002 17:47

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Back from vacation. Thank goodness I have this one day of work under my belt so now I can have a day off. Whew!

The trip was lurvley. We were like honeymooners. It is so nice to get away ALONE occasionally. And for the first time, I didn't miss Little Boy at all. Not one bit.

But I was sure glad to see him when we got home. I spent a long time squished up with on the sofa this afternoon talking about "stuff". Just 10-year-old stuff.

And, I really missed hanging with my husband today. We've been so "together" this trip and I really thought I'd be looking to get away from him, but it turned out not to be the case. I did, however, enjoy driving alone. Listening to NPR at a volume that didn't hurt my ears. Pushing the brake when I wanted to stop and the gas when I wanted go. Changing lanes when I felt it was appropriate.

Anyway...the trip.

Milwaukee. Um, okay. I loved Wisconsin, mostly. The lush green of the fields that just rolled on and on. Nice. But Milwaukee sucked ass. There was nothing - and I do mean nothing - to do in that town. Oh, except drink. One could drink oneself blind without a worry in the world. I witnessed several people doing so. But as far as entertainment? Nuh-uh.

We attempted to go to the new Art Museum but Hubband got pissed when he was told we couldn't look out the window without paying admittance. since there was a line as long as a city block and he's not a huge museum fan, anyway, I think that's all she wrote. Aside from it's abundance of available drinking establishments and one of the best burgers I've ever had, it really doesn't have much to offer. Which is a shame, because there's maximum potential there. (Cool hailstorm during dinner, though.)

Sunday was better. We found Miller Park, which is very cool, but had several hours to kill so we drove into the burbs until we found a mini-golf place and a mall. Fun, fun, fun! And the ball game was a blast. Miller Park resembles Tiger Stadium in a lot of ways. We enjoyed it. (And Hubband wore his Al Kaline throwback jersey so he to talk lots of sports with people.)

Woodstock was cool. Very charming. Unfortunately, all of their shops are closed on Sunday and Monday, meaning I was forced to look longing through the window at "Timeless Impressions", the rubber stamp store. {sniff}. But they had Eggs Benedict at the quaint little restaurant and they had a Starbucks.

Chicago was beautiful. Overcast and misty on Monday when we did the majority of our walking around. Sunny and bright on Tuesday. Two boat rides. Navy Pier. Shedd Aquarium. Riding the Loop. Shopping. Couldn't get much better. Poor Hubband was tortured by the walking and couldn't have cared less about the architecture, but he was a trooper.

Next time I'll take my mother!

0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!