Saturday in Suburbia

Sunday, Sept. 01, 2002 11:32

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

Crap. It's lunch time and I've just finished breakfast. How will I be able to squeeze in two more meals and a snack today? (Maybe I should get up at a decent hour?)

Yesterday was nice. I found time to organize all my papers in my "studio". I have a sweet little hanging file system on wheels. I cleaned up all the mess from the scrapbooking I did last weekend and now it's back to it's organized, pristine beauty.

I got my hair cut and my eyebrows waxed. It hurts like hell, but at least the pink brings out the blue in my eyes. I made all my appointments for the wedding. Root-job, haircut, waxing, manicure and pedicure. I'm not sure why I'm doing all this. It's not like I'm the bride or anything, but... I decided against having Scooby do my hair the day of the wedding. I told her I didn't want to be more beautiful than the bride. Hubband told me there was nothing I could do to help that. (Ain't he sweet?)

My Dad's church picnic was fun. Not many people there at all, since it's a holiday weekend. My Aunt and Uncle Sweetie came. I hadn't seen them in over a year. They both looked great for people in their sixties. They should. Uncle gave up smokes, coffee and hooch a few weeks ago. (Aunt said the first two weeks were hell but he's been better this week.) Aunt (who rollerblades 20+ miles almost every day) was glad to see us, as she knew no one there sans family. Dad and the Stepmonster were busy organizing and running things so Aunt was pretty much alone when we got there.

She filled me in on all her kids (4 - all doing well) and the other cousins. (Who's out of prison, out of rehab, who's been located after several years in some flophouse downtown). Yes, there's a reason we don't do family reunions on my Dad's side. There's no way I want some of my cousins to know where I live.

Hubband was disappointed that the horseshoes he had looked forward to were in the middle of tournament play (which is where one could find Uncle Sweetie ~ he has his own pit in his backyard). Boy was disappointed in general. They kept disappearing and I found out several times that they had gone back to the truck to listen to college football on the radio. (GO BLUE!) We stayed long enough to eat and catch up, then we boogied.

After that we ran a couple of errands and came home. I played in my "office", Hubband played in the yard. We ordered pizza and ate like pigs. I watched "Trading Spaces" and Hubband got drunk.

Today? Not sure. I need to squeeze in some excercise. I need to shower. I need to go grocery shopping and pay bills. I want to finish the project I was working on yesterday. I have a Jimmy Stewart movie to watch that my mom lent me. I'd like to adjust to my new habits with a quiet day at home but I'm sure Hubband has a list of things to do. HE usually does.

0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!