But Can We Sell The Old One?

Thursday, Dec. 19, 2002 14:15

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

I'm exhausted and tired and feeling fat. Hmmm. Wonder what I'm getting for Christmas!

Work is not going well. Seems the Uppers have some issue with the number of hours we've been working in our little family. Doesn't surprise me one bit, since I've been off almost once a week since before Thanksgiving, with cold or pinkeye or just pre-planned days. And I don't have to tell you that JBH is finding it difficult to put in a full day. (Will someone please explain to me when the commute became part of your work day? And someone calling in sick to you at 7am doesn't really constitute the start of your day, does it? Really? C'mon.)

I thought I was all into it this week. Planned to really crank out the hours. However, Boy had different plans. He contracted yet another case of the Pink Eye and we got the call to come get the little bugger. Hubband took the first day and I took Tuesday. Technically, I was "working from home". I will admit, I probably was about as productive as I would have been at work. JBH even called me to vent for an hour. Boy was major peeved, though, since he had planned on us spending the day elsewhere and my working meant staying close to home.

Tonight I have to finish wrapping the gifts. I have everything bought, but Big Boy, Girlfriend and my Dad's family all need wrapping. I'm having lunch tomorrow with UF, so I have to dig her stuff out from under the tree. Boy took his teacher's gifts to school today, just in case "we have to be sick tomorrow". (Funny little kid.)

Boy made his main teacher's card. I let him loose in the rubber room and boy did he have fun. Did a pretty good job, too, for a 10-year-old's first attempt. I was mostly impressed with the care he took to not get things messy and to put things back where they came from. I promised him the chance to play down there again some time.

He's been very complimentary of the little "Post-It" holders I've made his teachers. They're nothing but card stock cut to fit and a little velcro closure, decorated for the season. He thinks I should quit my job and do that for a living. Cutie.

Hubband and I are considering whether we want to add onto the house (sacrificing almost the entire back yard) or move. I was leaning back and forth until yesterday when I tripped upon the perfect place. Of course we're not ready yet. I want to pay off some of the accumulated holiday debt, first. But with interest rates so low and money available for a nice downpayment, I was pretty surprised by how much house we can afford.

The one I saw was in a better part of our same general neighborhood, corner lot with trees and lake access. Two car attached garage with this cute little rooftop deck. It has 4 bedrooms and 2 full baths. Central Air and all appliances. Basically, we wouldn't be giving up anything. It's only downside is that it's a bi-level, so it's a bit dated and it might become a problem for the grandma's some day. But it looked well cared for in the ad.

We decided against making an appointment for a showing, since we don't plan to buy, but it sure did make me feel better about what was available. Now it will be a real test of my patience to see how quickly I can pay off the bills and stow some more money away.

Then, of course, work has to be cranky, again. I'm hoping we can do something to sooth the savage beast over the holidays.

To those of you who won't have access over the break : Happy Holidays!

0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!