Hot Fun In The SummerTime

Sunday, Jun. 23, 2002 10:05

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

It has been a nice weekend so far.

Friday night I went with CoWorker Friend in search of a dress for her to wear to her boyfriend's brother's wedding. After our frustrating shopping expedition for work pants, neither of us was sure this was a good idea. As it turns out, while she has unreasonable expectations for pants (price/quality ratio-wise) she does seem to have a doable idea of what a nice dress costs. I swear we were in Marshall Fields for 10 minutes and found the perfect dress for her. It was a little snug so we asked them to call the next nearest store for a size up and then raced over there to purchase it.

It's nice to see her happy and she looks beautiful in the dress.

Saturday, in case we weren't aware of the Summer Solstice, it became instantly blistering hot. After I made my Dad breakfast (last week's Frittata hit!), Mom and I went to an Art Festival. This festival was apparently located in the center of HELL because I thought we would die from the heat. We were not even there an hour and I could feel my skin cooking. I bought some beautiful fused glass earrings (which is what I went there for) and a necklace, then we hit the road. We were supposed to go to another show, but skipped it.

Later that evening, our gardener friends were coming over to cook out. Hubband swears I invited them so I'd be forced to weed the garden, and I'm not so sure he's wrong. I did, indeed, weed the garden. After an hour in the heat, I was sick to my stomach and had a headache. Back into the house, cool shower, laying down for about 20 minutes. Then I remembered I had to shuck corn and Hubband was screaming about the bathroom needing cleaning. Blah, Blah, Blah. I think the headache went away about midnight.

One thing we did that worked out well: Salmon on the grill. They had some at the store in a lemon/butter/dill marinade so I snatched them up. Boy they were yummy. I'm not much of a fish person, but a good salmon is so delicious. Hubband bought Italian Sausages for himself, served with onions and peppers so that our back yard smelled like the State Fair. Mmmmmm. I think it's the first time we've grilled without a burger or dog touching the grill. :)

Today we'll be taking the Grandma out to dinner. Doing a little more grocery shopping. Trying to make myself clean the fridge. If I get truly ambitious, I might drag Little Boy to the beach. This swelter is supposed to last all week.

You all enjoy the rest of your weekend.

0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!