Will work for internet access

Friday, Jan. 25, 2002 19:36

Guestbook - Notes - Yesterday - Author - Contact

Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

They laid off two more people at work this week. People I like. People who work hard. That makes a total of about half a dozen people from our little group alone in the last 6 months. That's scary.

And she managed to discuss some of the details. I won't go into it here, because we all know they all know where to find me, but it doesn't look like I'm going to have a job much longer. I definately won't be going full time, we're not even thinking about that.

I feel weird. Part of me is just sad, sad, sad. (That part of me ate pizza for dinner and feels a little better.) But mostly I feel challenged; a little energized. I've been here and done this before. I can deal. I keep making these little lists in my head: "Things We Can Live Without To Save Money", "Things I Can Do To Earn Extra Money", "Places I Can Look For Part-Time Work".

Who knows? Maybe this could be the start of a brand new career path - that's how I got into this career, after all.

Not that I'm completely giving up on this job! I love the people I work with and wish I could wait it out until they find the right management formula to get the show off the ground, but that's not realistic. In my most secret selfish self I wish they would find it more cost effective to fire someone else. I would even be pleased to give them a list of cost cutting ideas (beginning with getting rid of the cappuccino machine and ending with doing away with the cleaning service that comes in every Tuesday to do dishes and clean the fridge!). But it's bad. Bills aren't getting paid and I need to get out of there before one of the unpaid bills is my paycheck.

One of the things I would be most disappointed about would be losing my free internet access!

But like I said, I have a plan. I've been looking for something to keep me out of the stores and this might just be it.

I'm off to make my lists!

0 comments so far

Where I Be - Wednesday, May. 23, 2007
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out With The Old... - Saturday, Dec. 30, 2006
Out of Hiding! - Saturday, Dec. 23, 2006
Very, Very, Very Busy - Saturday, Dec. 02, 2006

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!